GS Logo
The Green Sheet, Inc

Please Log in

A Thing
View Archives

View PDF of this issue

Care to Share?

Table of Contents

Lead Story

Creating a place for checks at the electronic payments table

Patti Murphy
The Takoma Group


Industry Update

ATM ISOs threatened by MasterCard's new fee structure

Visa rattles payments with CyberSource acquisition

ETA honors top leaders

Selling Prepaid

Prepaid in brief

Government streamlines payments with plastic

Prepaid and next-gen payments


The next generation of the check

Ed McLaughlin


Street SmartsSM:
Referral strategies: What really works?

Ken Musante
Eureka Payments LLC

Two steps toward plentiful referrals

Jeff Fortney
Clearent LLC

Digging into PCI - Part 11:
Regularly test security systems and processes

Tim Cranny
Panoptic Security Inc.

The professional MLS protocol

Jeffrey Shavitz
Charge Card Systems Inc.

Sales and marketing: Allies, not foes

Peggy Bekavac Olson
Strategic Marketing

Company Profile

First Data Corp.

New Products

Radically agnostic

Company: ROAM Data Inc.


Get on track with a business mentor



Resource Guide


A Bigger Thing

The Green Sheet Online Edition

May 10, 2010  •  Issue 10:05:01

previous next

ETA honors top leaders

Four key players in the payments industry received awards for outstanding leadership and innovation during the 20th Gala Anniversary Celebration and President's Dinner held April 12 at the Electronic Transaction Association's 2010 Annual Meeting & Expo in Las Vegas. Also honored were two of the ETA's founders, Biff Matthews of Cardware International and Joyce Cook of International CyberTrans.

The Strawhecker Group earned the Business Partner of the Year Award for its distinguished commitment to furthering the ETA's goals and objectives. TSG is a management consulting company that specializes in maximizing growth and profitability for clients in the merchant acquiring sector. "TSG is proud to serve the association and will continue to share our consulting, research and valuation expertise with ETA members and others in the electronic payments industry," said TSG President Kurt Strawhecker.

Todd Ablowitz, President of Double Diamond Group LLC, received the Member of the Year Award. Double Diamond's expert consultants serve global payment clients in the areas of strategic planning, business development, product management and international expansion.

An organization worth its salt

"As an ETA board member and active participant in this organization, I've been impressed by the high level of professionalism and the quality of discourse the association offers its members," Ablowitz said. "ETA is unparalleled in terms of government relations, access to education and information."

The ISO of the Year Award went to Propay, a leader in end-to-end payment security, credit card processing and electronic payment services.

"ProPay is a pioneer in data security and PCI compliance," said Carla Balakgie, Chief Executive Officer of the ETA. "They have moved the payments industry forward by using technology to increase merchant compliance and manage risk. They've also exhibited a strong commitment to alternative payments and other value-added strategies. For these reasons, ETA is proud to name ProPay as the recipient of ETA's ISO of the Year Award."

The Technology Innovation Award went to ROAM Data, a leading mobile commerce service provider for merchants to transact with consumers securely and affordably on mobile phones. With the release of the new ROAMpay Swipe solution, the company is poised to deliver the world's first encrypted card reader connected through the audio connection of mobile phones. Merchants will have the ability to process card-present swipe transactions on a variety of phone models.

Notice to readers: These are archived articles. Contact names or information may be out of date. We regret any inconvenience.

previous next

Spotlight Innovators:

North American Bancard | USAePay | Board Studios